2014 – Club Dinner & Awards

Friday 26th September saw the annual Club Dinner & awards night at Cobden Hill, hosted this year by legendary BBC TMS commentator and former England & Leicestershire bowler Jonathan ‘Aggers’ Agnew.

One of the most successful seasons in Radlett’s history meant for an incredibly entertaining evening, with lots of awards.

Jono McLean’s 1st XI enjoyed a record-breaking season winning everything they attempted to. They topped the inaugural Saracens Herts Cricket League Premier Division, before then going on to win the play-off’s, defeating Harpenden at Welwyn Garden City by 45 runs.

Earlier in the season, they defeated Bishop’s Stortford in the Herts T20 competition, winning by 33 runs.

This incredible 1st XI completed the haul by defeating Sawbridgeworth in the postponed Herts Cup Final from last season, winning on Bank Holiday Sunday by 8 wickets.

The 2nd XI, skippered by Dan Foster & John Armitage, also had a great season, finishing as the best 2nd XI in Hertfordshire and securing their place in the revamped Division 2 of SHCL.

Oz’s 3’s finished in a very respectable 9th in Division 5. In their ranks, they had Chandana ‘Meeps’ Meepagama, the first Radlett bowler to take 50 league wickets since Johnson Mafa in 2009.
The 3rd’s also announced & presented their POTY from the 2013 season, Zeddy Gitay, who was absent at last year’s dinner. Unfortunately, Zed missed the 2014 season due to ill-health, but is hoping to make a full return to the cause in 2015!

The 4th XI captain Colin Warne used the most players of any of the 5 sides in the club, but managed to achieve status as the best 4th XI in Hertfordshire.

In his first season as 5th XI captain/manager, Dwayne Gunasekera’s side managed to achieve promotion from Division 11W with some incredible performances from some of the club’s brilliant YP’s. Hopefully, the 2015 season will see Dwayne play a few more games!

Continuing with the successes in men’s cricket, our Midweek XI, captained by Dan Cohen, won the first trophy of the season, defeating Abbots Langley in the Watford Observer 14/14 Shield final.

Our Sunday side, in Division 1 of Chess Valley, fell just short of winning the competition, losing to eventual champions Eastcote in the final game of the season.

Additionally, Alexis Mannion’s record-breaking women’s side continued their unbeaten run in Southern League cricket, going undefeated for the 2nd consecutive season, gaining promotion to the highest tier of women’s club cricket.

A truly remarkable season was continued with the YP’s, with numerous trophies won, namely the u13’s & u9’s becoming County Champions.

Further to the on-field awards, there was of course the annual award from our Club President Tony Johnson. ‘TJ’ awarded the shield to John ‘Clarky’ Clark, who is in his 60th year as a Radlett CC member!

After Clarky’s award, TJ himself was presented with crystal glasses, 6 wine glasses & a pint mug.

RCC Adult Awards, 2014:

1st XI Player Of The Season – Kabir Toor
2nd XI Player Of The Season – Dan Foster
3rd XI Player Of The Season – Chandana Meepagama
4th XI Player Of The Season – Dom Ingram
5th XI Player Of The Season – Chris King
Most Improved over-21 – Mick Lee
Most Improved under-21 – Alex Cook
Best Newcomer Of The Season – Randeep Sanghera
Radlett CC Player Of The Year – Kabir Toor
Radlett CC President’s Award – John Clark

Radlett Women CC Southern League Awards:
Batting – Cath McNeill
Bowling – Sian Ruck
Fielding – Alexis Mannion
Captain’s Award – Cath McNeill
Radlett Women CC North London League Awards:
Batting – Anna Harris
Bowling – Amy Price
Fielding – Samantha Battman
Captain’s Award – Katie Pankhurst
Radlett Women CC Player Of The Year – Anna Harris